Introduction

Members of the Criminal Injuries Compensation Board (the Board) make decisions in respect of whether to award compensation, and the level of any compensation, to victims of crimes under the Criminal Injuries Compensation Scheme (the Scheme).

Members are appointed by the Minister and, according to the terms of the Scheme, there must be no more than 12 members, at least three of whom must be advocates or solicitors of not less than 5 years' standing (legal members).

The Scheme provides that the appointment of members in the first instance is for a period of five years, and appointments are renewable for such periods as the Minister may think appropriate thereafter.

On 18 April 2018, the Minister for Home Affairs made a ministerial decision to appointment the below two members until 17 April 2023. These members terms are therefore due to expire soon and as such require reappointment. Both members have agreed to extend their terms until 31 December 2024.

- Mrs Jess Doyle, Lay Member
- Mr Peter Charalambous, Lay Member

This will provide the necessary stability and consistency for the Scheme to continue operating in its current form, until arrangements are able to be made to update the Scheme in accordance with the Minister's direction.

Recommendation

The Minister is recommended to approve the appointments, effective from 17 April 2023 to 31 December 2024.